September 11th 2016 – Ives, Haydn & Massa

“In Memoriam”

The Chamber Orchestra of Pittsburgh

Edward Leonard, Conductor

Voces Solis
Ryan Keeling, Artistic Director

Charles Ives The Unanswered Question (1908)

F. J. Haydn Symphony No. 49 in F Minor (1768)

“La Passione”

I. Adagio

II. Allegro Molto

III. Menuet e Trio

IV. Presto


Chris Massa –  An American Requiem (2016)

I. For All Flesh Is Grass – 1 Peter 1:24

II. Blessed Are They Who Mourn – Matthew 5:4

III. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night – Dylan Thomas

IV. Come Lovely and Soothing Death – Walt Whitman

V. Death Be Not Proud – John Donne

VI. The Lord Is My Shepherd – Psalm 23

VII. Oh! ‘Tis Glorious – Stephen Foster

Voces Solis


Soprano – Christiana Howell
Alto – Becki Toth
Tenor – Rich Williams
Bass – Bryan Sable